They Matter

My name is Alyvia. I lost my twins at 9 weeks, my mom at 61 years old, and my daughter at 38 1/2 weeks. All of these deaths happened within 18 months time. All of these circumstances have changed me, because all of these PEOPLE matter. Yes, I said people. My twins were people at only 9 weeks of gestation, as much as my mom was at 61 years of her vibrant life.

THEY MATTER.

Their lives all meant something and continue to mean something, not just to me, but to everyone I know as well.

Recently, you might have heard that the Return to Zero film is not making much progress among the Hollywood execs because it “doesn’t affect most people”. Well, I beg to differ Mr. Hollywood exec. So LISTEN UP Mr. Hollywood cuz an angry momma bear is about to speak for her cubs and you best not ignore her:

Death affects us ALL. Yes, even baby death. You see we are all a part of this thing call the human race. We all have beating hearts, no matter how big or how small. WE have voices no matter even if some of us can’t physically speak. If you are saying that three of my five children don’t matter cuz they didn’t live very long on this side of my womb, then let me explain to you how much the death of my children has changed not only the life of myself and my husband, but the lives of THOUSANDS of others. After Claudette died, I started a blog. (www.alyviacecile.com) It has touched almost 50,000 people’s lives. Then I was inspired one night by my daughter to start the Kisses for Claudie project wherein there would be 365 random acts of kindness to memorialize her life. Dozens of acts have already been acted out. Yes, just the itty bitty life of my Claudette Elyse changed our world.

I don’t expect you to care about the Kisses for Claudie project or the hundreds of other positive impacts our babies have had on the planet in which you inhabit, but perhaps let me speak in a language you understand: Numbers. More accurately money.

It is estimated that over 26,000 babies died each year from stillbirth alone, that doesn’t include the millions that died from miscarriage or infant death. My husband is the mathmetician but I am smart enough to know that this translates to a lot and a lot of moms. Moms who are grieving. Momma bears who are hurting and angry and want someone or something to cling to. Something to hope for. Oh sorry let me get back to Hollywood speak that “hope” word will translate into “money” for you. See everyone wins.

SO SHOW THIS FILM. Show it for the millions and millions of us mommies who need to see the story played on the big screen because they are too scared to say it out loud for themselves. Show if for the millions and millions of PEOPLE WHOSE LIVES MATTER!

One thought on “They Matter

Leave a comment